top of page
  • Writer's pictureIndrani Ghosh

The Love Affair

This is a topic I have wanted to write about for so long – but I never quite have had the courage to do it. People fall in love with all sorts of people and things. From ever since I can remember, I have had one constant love in my life. I have been unfaithful to this love a few times, but it has never let me down. Always waiting to welcome me back with open arms, it has been a pillar of support and strength in what has been an eventful life...

If you are wondering who or what I am talking about – it is my birthplace, Kolkata. A city that many people love, many hate, but no one can ignore. I was born here, studied here, and have had 90% of my work life in this city. I have traveled to many places and lived abroad for a couple of years, but Kolkata has something that has always drawn me back. I even tried to move away once, but it took me about six months to move back to the lap of this city that embraces, protects, and soothes my restless Sagittarian spirit.

It is possible to write about Kolkata from many angles, but this particular blog post will focus on some signature eateries and dishes that have captivated the foodie in me – remember that being a Bong and being a foodie is almost synonymous! So without further delay, here are some of the culinary delights that Kolkata has to offer:


The Handi Biryani and Mutton Chaap from Naushijaan

Kolkatan biryani is a matter of controversy for some, and no debate for others. The fragrant rice, the succulent pieces of chicken or mutton, the flavorful potato, and the optional egg – no Bengali can resist the lures of the local biryani. I particularly like the biryani from Naushijaan because it is not too oily and you don’t feel bloated or uneasy after consuming it. An apt accompaniment with this biryani is the mutton chaap which is the piece de resistance in my opinion. It is not like the chaap you get in other places. The mutton and bone are semi-minced and cooked in a way that melts in your mouth and the more you eat the more you like it. Do not miss this unbeatable combo!


The Flat Pork Hakka Noodles from Momo i am

I love Chinese food of any kind, American Chinese, Indian Chinese or whatever way you tweak it. In Kolkata you have no end of options for Chinese food, from the traditional old places to the new ones cropping up every now and then. My recent favorite is the food from Momo i am which delivers Chinese food with great taste. The pork hakka noodles is a special dish, with a lot of tender and chopped pork pieces, scrambled egg, and chopped veggies. The flat noodles lend the dish its unique appeal. Try it with one of the side dishes or just by itself and you won’t be disappointed!


The Fish Fry from Tandoor Park

Any blog about food and Kolkata and Bengalis is incomplete without a mention of fish. While you get many different types of fish cooked in many different ways, the fish fry is a common favorite. You can have it as a snack or with chips or even with pulao or biryani. Tandoor Park serves two pieces of fried fish with some French fries and a yummy tartar sauce. You will feel quite full if you manage to eat both pieces or you can choose to share it with a friend and share the love.


The Belgian Chocolate Pudding from Tintin and the Brussels Club


Again, Bengalis and sweets go hand in hand, and I am not talking about just rosogolla here. It is a common misconception that our taste in dessert is limited to just rosogolla and sandesh. It is most certainly not. We appreciate good food, period! I recently had a splendid lunch at Tintin and the Brussels Club after a friend recommended the place to me. The soup and main dish were delicious but what got me hooked was the Belgian chocolate pudding I had for dessert. It is served with a generous dollop of homemade vanilla ice-cream, and the molten chocolate inside as you bite in, is out of this world. Order it with a little time on your hands, because this masterpiece is freshly baked and takes about a half an hour to come to the table. You will not regret this, unless you are on a diet…


Kolkata has much more than what I have written here in terms of food. All I have done, is list some of my favorite dishes for you to try if you are in the mood for some deliciousness. Hopefully, I will be able to write more about my beloved love affair with this City of Joy, which is so much more than just food, it is about the very air I breathe here (polluted though it may be!)…


Note: All images have been sourced from Google.

54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page